Principal Investigator

Feng Zhao

Phone: 906-487-2852
Office: 402 M&M Engrg. Bldg.
Email: fengzhao@mtu.edu

Dr. Zhao is a biomedical engineer with training in Tissue Engineering, Stem Cell Engineering and Biomaterials.  She was a senior research scientist in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at Duke University before joining the faculty of Biomedical Engineering at Michigan Tech.  Dr. Zhao received a Young Clinical Scientist Award (YCSA) from Flight Attendant Medical Research Institute (FAMRI) in 2007.

 

Post Doctoral Fellows

Qi Xing

Email: qxing@mtu.edu

Ph.D., Chemical Engineering, Louisiana Tech University

Projects: Engineering Completely Biological Small-Diameter Blood Vessel with Human Mesenchymal Stem Cell Sheets, Nitric Oxide (NO)-Releasing Biomaterials for Vascular Tissue Engineering.

 

B. S., Physics, University of Sao Paulo

Ph.D., Materials Engineering, University of Sao Paulo

Projects: Neural Tissue Enigneering

PhD Students

Emily Shearier

Email: ersheari@mtu.edu

Ph.D. Candidate, Biomedical Engineering, Michigan Technological University

B.S., Department of Biological Science, Michigan Technological University

Projects: Engineering hMSC Spheroids for Lymphedema Treatments, Cytotoxicity Examination of Bioabsorbable Stent.

Zichen Qian

Email: zichenq@mtu.edu

Ph.D. Candidate, Biomedical Engineering, Michigan Technological University

B.S., Biomedical Engineering, Michigan Technological University

Projects: Vascular Tissue Engineering. Neural Tissue Engineering with hMSCs and Natural Nanofibrous ECM Scaffold, Micro-fabrication of Cell Sheet Fragments.

Rachel Martin

Email: rachelm@mtu.edu

Ph.D. Candidate, Chemical Engineering, Michigan Technological University

Co-advised with Dr. Mike Mullins

Projects: Neural Tissue Engineering

Wenkai Jia

Email: wenkaij@mtu.edu

B.S., Biofunctional Material, Beijing University of Chemical Technology

Projects: Biomaterials development

Avik Ghosh

Email: avikg@mtu.edu

B.S., Biotechnology, Sri Ramaswamy Memorial University, India

Projects: Biomaterials development

Master Students

Baratwaaj Kannan

Email: bkannan@mtu.edu

Master Students, Biomedical engineering, Michigan Technological University

B.S., Chemical Engineering, Sri Venkateswara College Of Engineering, Pennalur, Sriperumbudur, Tamil Nadu, INDIA.

 

Undergraduate Students

Caleb Vogt

Email: vogt@mtu.edu

5th year Biomedical Engineering/Pre-medicine

Keegan Yates

Email: yates@mtu.edu

4th year Biomedical Engineering

Mitch Tahtinen

Email: mdtahtin@mtu.edu

5th year Biomedical Engineering/Statistics

Kyle Jansen

Email: kdjansen@mtu.edu

4th year Biomedical Engineering

Travis Redman

Email: tmredman@mtu.edu

4th year Biomedical Engineering

Kemin Fena

Email: kxfena@mtu.edu

3rd year Biomedical Engineering

Corey Fase

Email: cafase@mtu.edu

3rd year Biomedical Engineering

Hugh Stanton

Email: hdstanto@mtu.edu

2nd year Biomedical Engineering

Rachel Stites

Email: rlstites@mtu.edu

2nd year Biomedical Engineering

High School Trainee

Student of Pre-College Explorations – Women in Engineering