Principal Investigator

Dr. Feng Zhao

Phone: 906-487-2852
Office: 402 M&M Engrg. Bldg.
Email: fengzhao@mtu.edu

Dr. Zhao is a biomedical engineer with training in Tissue Engineering, Stem Cell Engineering and Biomaterials.  Her research has been highlighted by national and international news agencies, newspapers, and scientific publishers including ScienceDaily, RegMedNet, Stem Cells Freak, Kurzweil, Scicasts, Eurekalert, Genetic Literacy Project, The Peninsula, Latest Technology, and Iran Daily. Dr. Zhao received a Young Clinical Scientist Award (YCSA) from Flight Attendant Medical Research Institute (FAMRI) in 2007, which provided her a five-year support to develop a vascular graft.  Dr. Zhao is also a recipient of the Biomedical Engineering Society-Cellular and Molecular Engineering (BMES-CMBE) Rising Star Award (2016), the Chinese Association for Biomaterials (CAB) Young Investigator Award (2017), Bhakta Rath Research Award (2018)as well as multiple Portage Health Foundation (PHF) and Michigan Tech Research Excellent Awards.

 

Post Doctoral Fellows

Dr. Guifang Wang

Email: guifangw@mtu.edu

Ph.D., Biomedical Engineering, Florida State University

Projects: Cardiovascular Tissue Engineering

PhD Students

Rachel Martin

Email: rachelm@mtu.edu

Ph.D. Candidate, Chemical Engineering, Michigan Technological University

Co-advised with Dr. Mike Mullins

Projects: Neural Tissue Engineering

Wenkai Jia

Email: wenkaij@mtu.edu

Ph.D. Candidate, Biomedical Engineering, Michigan Technological University

B.S., Biofunctional Material, Beijing University of Chemical Technology

Projects: Engineering human mesenchymal stem cells for lymphatic tissue regeneration, vascular graft engineering, biomaterials development

Daniel Radke

Email: dlradke@mtu.edu

Ph.D. Student, Biomedical Engineering, Michigan Technological University

B.S., Biomedical Engineering, Michigan Technological University

Projects: Vascular graft engineering, vascular cell biomechanics

Dhavan Sharma

Email: ddsharma@mtu.edu

Ph.D. Student, Biomedical Engineering, Michigan Technological University

B.S., Biotechnology, Veer Narmad South Gujarat University, India

M.S., Biotechnology, Nirma University, India

M.S., Biomedical Engineering, Michigan Technological University

Project: Prevascularization of 3D tissues for wound repair, cardiovascular tissue engineering

Master Students

Stephanie Okyere Sarpong

Email: ssarpong@mtu.edu

B.S., Biochemistry and Biotechnology, Minnesota State University Moorhead

Projects: Bioink development for 3D printing, stem ell engineering for wound repair

David Ross

Email: djross@mtu.edu

B.S., Biomedical Engineering, Michigan Technological University

Projects: Stem cell sheet engineering

Undergraduate Students

Juan Felipe Chica Toro

Email: jfchicat@mtu.edu

3rd year Biomedical Engineering

Mitch Tahtinen

Email: mdtahtin@mtu.edu

5th year Biomedical Engineering/Statistics

Kyle Jansen

Email: kdjansen@mtu.edu

4th year Biomedical Engineering

Kemin Fena

Email: kxfena@mtu.edu

3rd year Biomedical Engineering

Corey Fase

Email: cafase@mtu.edu

3rd year Biomedical Engineering

Hugh Stanton

Email: hdstanto@mtu.edu

2nd year Biomedical Engineering

Rachel Stites

Email: rlstites@mtu.edu

2nd year Biomedical Engineering

High School Trainee

Student of Pre-College Explorations

Women in Engineering

Student of Pre-College Explorations

Women in Engineering

Lab Alumni

Research Scientist, Mayo Clinics in Minnesota

M.D., Ph.D., Department of Burns Surgery, the First Affiliated Hospital of Sun Yat-sen University, China

 

Ph.D., Biomedical Engineering, Michigan Technological University, 2015

Postdoctoral Researcher, UConn Health Center

Ph.D., Biomedical Engineering, Michigan Technological University, 2017

Research Scientist,  Merck & Company, Inc.

M.S., Biomedical engineering, Michigan Technological University

B.S., Chemical Engineering, Sri Venkateswara College Of Engineering, Pennalur, Sriperumbudur, Tamil Nadu, INDIA.

 

Caleb Vogt

Email: vogt@mtu.edu

B.S., Biomedical Engineering, Michigan Tech

M.D., Ph.D. student, University of Minnesota

Keegan Yates

Email: yates@mtu.edu

B.S., Biomedical Engineering, Michigan Tech

Ph.D. Candidate, Biomedical Engineering, Virginia Tech

Industry

Undergraduate student, University of Michigan Ann Arbor